News Sports/Outdoors Social Business Events
Letters Obituaries Archives Advertise Home
Search ...

Idaho delegation joins challenge of vaccine mandate

November 17, 2021

Today, Idaho’s U.S. Senators Mike Crapo and Jim Risch and U.S. Representatives Mike Simpson and Russ Fulcher joined the other 48 Republican Senators and 155 Republican members of the House of Representatives in challenging President Biden’s vaccine mandate under the Congressional Review Act (CRA) by introducing a joint resolution of disapproval of the mandate.

The Congressional Review Act is the official process for Congress to eliminate an executive branch rule. The Resolution has been referred to the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions.

This move to overturn President Biden’s vaccine or test mandate for private employers is guaranteed a vote on the Senate Floor. The rule was transmitted to the Senate on November 16, 2021, setting up a Floor vote as soon as early December.

Although the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) has temporarily suspended enforcement of the vaccine mandates for private business, the CRA, if passed, would codify a prohibition of reinstating the mandate.

“Vaccines have historically proven to be vital to the public health goal of disease prevention," Crapo said. "We had record vaccine development, thanks to American medical ingenuity and Operation Warp Speed. However, a one-size-fits-all federal mandate on vaccines and private business practices is not a reasonable solution now--or ever. Medical decisions are best left to patients and their doctors. I will continue to fight to ensure the federal government stays within its authorities entrusted to it by the Constitution.”

The CRA was led by U.S. Senator Mike Braun (R-Indiana) and co-sponsored by the rest of the Republican Senate Caucus: Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky), Senators Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), Mike Lee (R-Utah), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Rick Scott (R-Florida), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), Rand Paul (R-Kentucky), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia), Marco Rubio (R-Florida), John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi), John Thune (R-South Dakota), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi), Richard Burr (North Carolina), Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota), John Hoeven (R-North Dakota), Pat Toomey (R-Pennsylvania), Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Josh Hawley (R-Missouri), John Boozman (R-Arkansas), Jim Inhofe (R-Oklahoma), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Todd Young (R-Indiana), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), Ron Johnson (R-Ohio), Ben Sasse (R-Nebraska), Steve Daines (R-Montana), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Lindsey Graham (R-South Carolina), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tim Scott (R-South Carolina), Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana), Roy Blunt (R-Missouri), Richard Shelby (R-Alabama), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska) and Mitt Romney (R-Utah).

U.S. Representative Fred Keller (R-Pennsylvania), Ranking Member of the Subcommittee on Workforce Protections, Idaho’s U.S. Representatives Mike Simpson and Russ Fulcher, and 155 other members of the U.S. House of Representatives introduced the same bill.

Questions or Comments? Send us an email!

Mike Weland, Publisher  

6931 Main St.
P.O. Box 1625
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805
(208) 295-1016

A 9B Media LLC publication
Sign up for breaking news alerts