Home News Sports/Outdoors Social Business Calendar

Events & Entertainment Letters Obituaries Archives Advertise
Search ...

Ben Robertson to be new county commissioner

May 17, 2022 -- Updated1:50 a.m. May 18

By Mike Weland

Ben Robertson
Steve Fioravanti
With a turnout of 47.9 percent, Ben Robertson and Steve Fioravanti will be Boundary County's new county commissioners in 2023, Robertson having defeated incumbent Dan Dinning, 2,076 to 1,059 and Steve Fioravanti defeated incumbent Tim Bertling, 1,603 to 1,524. Chad Workman will take over as county coroner, winning that race 2,214 to 476. Caleb Davis retains his seat as Republican precinct committeeman for Moyie Springs, defeating Elena Quinn 405 to 283, and Lester Pinkerton will be the GOP precinct committeeman for North Bonners Ferry, garnering 302 votes to Amy Roemelen's 151 and Jeffrey Bogard's 48.

In Republican federal races, 2,488 Boundary County voters gave Representative Russ Fulcher, running unopposed, their vote, and 1,914 voted to retain Mike Crapo, with Scott Trotter running a distant second with 607.

In state races, local voters who took the time to cast ballots favored candidates of the far right, choosing Janice McGeachin for governor over incumbent Brad Little, 1,785 to 1,119, Priscilla Giddings for lieutenant governor over Scott Bedke, 1,964 to 948, Raul Labrador for attorney general over incumbent Lawrence Wasden and Brandon Durst for superintendent of public instruction over Debbie Critchfield, 1,765 to 781 with incumbent Sherri Ybarra garnering 434 votes.

In the District 1 race for state senator, Scott Herndon received 1,871 votes to incumbent Jim Woodward's 1,358, for house seat 1A, Spencer Hutchings received 1,228 votes to Mark Sauter's 935, and for house seat B, the only state race won by the more moderate incumbent, Sage Dixon led Todd Engel by just one vote, 1,577 to 1,576.

Updated 7:50 a.m. May 18: Scott Herndon has defeated incumbent Jim Woodward for the District 1 seat in the Idaho Senate, 7,771 to 6,064. Mark Sauter prevailed in the race for Idaho House seat 1A, defeating runner-up Spencer Hutchings 4,816 to 4,093. Sage Dixon retains house seat 1B, defeating Todd Engel 7,049 to 6,435.

In statewide Republican races, incumbent Governor Brad Little won, as did Scott Bedke in the race for lieutenant governor, Phil McGrane for secretary of state race, Raul Labrador for attorney general and Debbie Critchfield the race for superintendent of public instruction.

Questions or Comments? Send us an email!

Mike Weland, Publisher

6931 Main St.
P.O. Box 1625
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805
(208) 295-1016

A 9B Media LLC publication
Sign up for breaking news alerts