Five running for two seats on Creston town council

Creston WelcomeThe Town of Creston will be hold a by-election to fill the vacant Councillor positions resulting from the resignation of Councillors Jim Elford and Anthony Mondia in 2023. General Voting Day will be 8 a.m. to 8 p.lm. Saturday March 16, at the Upper Rotacrest Hall, 230 19 Avenue, Creston.

Advance voting will take place from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Wednesday, March 6, and Wednesday, March 13, at the Upper Rotacrest Hall.
With the candidate nomination period ended today, five Creston residents are in the running: Carolyn Haeton, Hillside Street, Megan Holland, 33rd Avenue North, Scott Irwin, Canyon Street, Rick Klimek,Northwest Boulevard, and Micah Wassink, 12th Avenue North.

Those interested in voting in the by-election should ensure they are eligible to vote and are registered. In accordance with the Local Government Act and the Town of Creston’s Local Government Election and Assent Voting Bylaw No. 1926, 2021 the Town will be using the Provincial Voters List as the register of resident electors. Advance elector registration will be accepted until January 23, 2024. New elector registration will be accepted on advance and general voting days.

For further information please email, or phone (250) 428-2214, or visit Town Hall at 238 10th Avenue North.