Final state candidates revealed, waiting for last of the locals — corrected

Idaho votes logoThe filing period for declarations of candidacy for the May 21 primary election ended at 5 p.m. Friday, and we have the full slate of state candidates who will appear on the Boundary County ballot for the state and federal races, but won’t have the full slate of county candidates until Monday.

We did get three additional local filings on Wednesday, rounding out the expected sheriff’s slate with Dave Schuman and Jon VanGesen both filing as Republicans. Nancy Wycoff filed her declaration to continue serving as Democratic precinct committeeman for the Bonners Ferry/Kootenai precinct. I have not seen the filing, but have been told that Mark Moseley filed Thursday for another term as Republican precinct committeeman for Copeland in the only contested precinct race this year, with Erik Olsen challenging the divisive radical.

There are now four people running for the Idaho District 1 seat in the U.S. Congress in one of this year’s only races that won’t be affected by the primary; all four running are from different parties. Republican incumbent Russ Fulcher and Democrat Kaylee Peterson will appear on separate tickets May 21 and will face Brendan Gomez, Constitution Party, and Libertarian Matt Loesby in November.

In Idaho statehouse races, Republicans Jim Woodward and Scott Herndon will face each other in the primary and the winner will face Independent challengers Dan Rose and Steve Johnson in the November 5 general election.

Incumbent Republican representative Mark Sauter will face Spencer Hutchings and Jane Sauter in the GOP primary for District seat 1A, and Karen Lynn Matthee is running unopposed in the Democratic primary.

And for District seat 1B, being vacated by Republican Sage Dixon, who has served his constituents for a decade, will see long-time Boundary County John Birch “Democrat” Bob Vickaryous face Kathryn Larson in the Democratic primary, with the winner to challenge the winner of the Republican between Cornel Rasor and Charles Lowman.

Publisher’s note; the initial report of candidates for Idaho house were in error and corrected at 3:32 p0.m. March 17. I regret the error. — Mike Weland